WALK TO THE BOON OF HEALTH.

At least a little walk is always close to impossible especially as we go through a day. You will discover that it is the simplest way one can get around. If you happen to live in Nairobi or it’s outskirts, you will realize that you would rather walk out of that bus and make it to your destination by foot than linger for another second and take forever in that traffic. Well,  everywhere is always a walking distance if you have the time. 

Sometime back a friend of mine told me a story of her grandmother. That she started walking 6 miles a day when she was only 70 years of age. She is 98 today and they don’t know where on earth she is. I found that so funny that I laughed. But coming to think of it, this could be the greatest lesson any youngster could learn in this day.

Walking has been linked to a host of benefits including lower stress, larger brains and improved creativity. Walking gets the feet moving, the blood moving, the mind moving and this movement is the life we are all needing. Walking is good for solving problems-it is as though the feet are little psychiatrists. And if you thought hoping to bed after a meal is right, then you got it all wrong. After dinner, sit a while. After supper,  walk a mile.  A vigorous five-mile walk will do more good for an unhappy but otherwise healthy adult than all the medicine and psychology in the world. 

The most healthy relationships are those that cultivate the art of walking. If you want a happy relationship then try a little walk. I enjoy seeing couples walking down the streets together. It does not imply that he is too broke to pay her fare. It only mean they want to live long together forever. And if you’re walking your lady on the sidewalk, I would still like to see a man walking on the street-side to protect the lady from traffic. I grew up with that and will hate seeing it getting lost. 

Yet still, I realized only the thoughts conceived while walking have value. That your best ideas that often turn the world upside down seldom come when you’re juggling emails, rushing to meet the 5 pm deadline of assignment submission. Instead they come when you’re hurrying to meet your date who has been there now the second hour or when you’re late for Professor Phillip Nying’uro’s Political Science lecture. Trust me, walking is magic. I read that Plato and Aristotle often did much of their brilliant thinking together while walking. Just the movement, the meditation, the health of the blood pumping, and the rhythm of footsteps… this alone is a primal way to connect with one’s deeper self. 

Again, you will agree with me that there’s so much beauty that surround us, but usually we need to be walking in a garden to know it. Walking has hence been confirmed as the most ideal mode of exercise second after running. Exercises are needful to stimulate not to annihilate. Therefore make it a necessity in your life. 

For me, I think I cannot preserve my health and spirit unless I spend four hours a day at least-and it’s commonly more than that-walking from my hostel up to Upper Hill to drop my Curriculum Vitae for the sake of acquiring that job, then walk down to Muthurwa to fetch some fruits for my sick friend before I walk to Kenyatta National Hospital to get them to her. Then I quickly dash to school for my 2 pm lecture. Well, as I walk, I stroll along serenely with my eyes and I forget my every single trouble. 

Walking has well worked for me and so will it for you.Join us on the 26th of February 2017 as we walk around the streets of Nairobi giving ourselves a free healing from the lifestyle diseases such as obesity,arthritis, diabetes, amongst others. The Nairobi Wellness Walk(NAWEWA) has been organised by a team of young people who care for the life of each and everyone of us and so to see to it that we live life to the fullest. The students of The University of Nairobi Seventh Day Adventist Church are inviting you to join them in the walk to see and learn the benefits of healthy living ranging from diets and natural remedies to illness and diseases.

Hurry to register for the same lest time cuts you out. You’re welcome to participate in it with the entire of your household; your spouse, children and even a chance to walk your dog around with you as well. Plan not to miss. Mark the date on your diary and wait as the clock ticks to that time. For more information about the same, visit our page on – http://www.nawewa.org , on Twitter – @nawewa_ke ,  on Instagram- nawewa_ke , then lastly on Facebook- Nairobi Wellness Walk 

See you there next month on the 26th. Make it your greatest hearts desire to walk with us. 

NAWEWA- LIFE TO THE FULLEST!!! 

The NAWEWA of 2016

18 thoughts on “WALK TO THE BOON OF HEALTH.

  1. Since i can’t agree more, i would rather share a quote i well believe expresses my opinion on the same…
    โ€œIf you seek creative ideas go walking.
    Angels whisper to a man when he goes for
    a walk.โ€
    โ€• Raymond I. Myers

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. I will choose to walk on the 26th, and will keep walking, well, but making sure of my whereabouts ๐Ÿ˜› . I sure hope the other benefits enlisted herein can be tried at home, right ? hehe. #NAWEWA_2017

    Liked by 1 person

  3. NAWEWA indeed gives a chance not only to walk your ailments away but into a pavilion of health. Tell me who on earth loathes perfect health? That person should be six feet under. An awesome piece keeping readers in tune for NAWEWA. Here we come

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

